NZ trio recognised amongst world’s best

Mitch Evans with the Woolf Barnato Trophy at the British Racing Drivers’ Club awards in London.


Three New Zealand drivers were recognised at this year’s British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) awards, alongside some of the sport’s biggest stars, including F1 contender Daniel Ricciardo, at a ceremony in London.

FIA World Endurance Championship winner Brendon Hartley was awarded the BRDC’s highest accolade, the Gold Star, along with his Australian teammate Mark Webber.

The Gold Star dates back to 1929 and is a unique award presented annually to the winner/s of the Gold Star Points Table, compiled from results in international races. The points scoring system pits the very best against one another, regardless of what they are driving or where they are racing.

The award places Hartley alongside some of New Zealand’s best-ever drivers, Denny Hulme and Bruce McLaren, who were also presented with Gold Stars during their illustrious careers.

Former GP3 champion and perennial GP2 contender Mitch Evans received the Woolf Barnato Trophy, which is awarded to the highest-placed British or Commonwealth driver in a British car at the Le Mans 24 Hours.

Evans finished second in the LMP2 class at this year’s Le Mans 24 Hour, alongside Oliver Turvey and Simon Dolan for Jota Sport. After a slow start to this year’s GP2 Championship, Evans recorded a string of podium finishes (including two race wins) at the end of the season to finish fifth overall.

He’ll be returning for another crack at the championship with the Campos Racing team, which finished in fourth place in the team’s standings.

Japanese F3 champion and two-time Toyota Racing Series winner Nick Cassidy was awarded the Bruce McLaren Trophy for the most meritorious Commonwealth driver.

The 21-year-old is the only New Zealander in the BRDC’s Rising Stars driver programme and is one of only four participants from around the world in the 2015 BMW Motorsport Junior Programme.

Other headlines in General this month:
Bookmark and Share