View Printer Friendly Version of MotorSport News   Print this months MotorSport News

Hi there,

Happy New Year! I hope everyone stayed safe and enjoyed the summer break. We’re now right into the swing of the race season, with some fantastic racing displayed over the weekend. 

Sixteen-year-old Canadian Lance Stroll clinched the opening round of the Toyota Racing Series (TRS) at Ruapuna and became the youngest winner of the Lady Wigram Trophy. The TRS has once again attracted some of the best young drivers from around the world, who will give our Kiwi boys some strong competition over the next four weeks.

Also racing in Christchurch were NZV8TC, Formula Ford and Toyota Finance 86 championships. Congratulations to Jason Bargwanna and Kevin Williams, who extended their leads in the respective NZV8 TLX and TL series. Te Puke’s Michael Scott claimed the second round of Formula Ford, while local lad Marcus Armstrong bagged the most points in a competitive TR86 field. 

The nominations for the 52nd Halberg Awards have been announced and, although Scott Dixon hasn’t been selected to defend his Sportsman of the Year title, Scott McLaughlin has been nominated for NZ’s favourite sporting moment for his iconic ‘Give It some Jandal’ interview. This is the only Halberg decided by the public, so click here to give Scott your vote!

Hayden Paddon announced some exciting news last week, too. Originally only set to compete in nine rounds, he’s announced he’s locked in for 12 WRC rounds this year, starting at Rally Sweden on 12 February. To keep updated on Hayden’s success, follow his Facebook page. 

It’s with sadness that we acknowledge the passing of photographer Graham Blow. Not only one the sport’s leading photographers, Graham was also a celebrated astronomer and computer programmer. Everyone at MSNZ sends their condolences to his family and friends.

As usual, MotorSport News in 2015 will endeavour to keep you updated with local events, Kiwi successes and technical info to entertain and inform you over the coming months.

Shayne Harris

Festival celebrates more than speed Click here for full story

In memory of Graham Blow – 1954- 2014 Click here for full story

Canadian becomes youngest-ever Lady Wigram winner Click here for full story

Formula Ford war of attrition Click here for full story

Calling all ClubSporters! Click here for full story

Climbing the hill, but not over it! Click here for full story

New Year, new gear Click here for full story

Bookmark and Share