Endurance Championship field announced

North Island Endurance Series Inky Tulloch and John McIntyre are amongst the prospects at the National Endurance Championship. Photo: Simon Chapman

The field for the inaugural New Zealand Endurance Championship has been announced, with some big names set to hit the grid. The Top-20 finishers from the North and South Island series having earned the right to compete for the national title.

Leading entrants in the 3-Hour race include both series’ winning teams of Inky Tulloch and John McIntyre (Camaro GT), and father and son Angus and George McFarlane (Porsche 997).

They will line up alongside Glenn Smith and John De Veth (SuperTourer prototype), Dwayne and Matt Carter (Falcon V8 Supercar), Sam Fillmore and Danny Stutterd (Porsche 997 GT3), and Allan Dippie and Scott O’Donnell (Porsche 997 Cup S) – all of whom are expected to be in contention for first place in the leading GT class.

Andrew Bagnall and Rick Armstrong (Audi R8) could also be title threats, after a plague of mechanical issues saw them qualify 19th in the South Island series.

Ian Hayr (Porsche GT3) and Neil Foster (Audi R8) are set to go head-to-head for the 1-Hour title, having qualified comfortably in first place in their respective series.

South Island Endurance Series secretary Chris Dunn says the feedback he’s received from competitors indicates they’re all excited to be able compete for national honours against their North Island counterparts. 

Drivers who competed and qualified in both series were seeded based on their best finish, with the next team down replacing them in the other series.

With not all drivers confirmed for the two-round championship, a reserve list from both series has been created to fill any empty slots. A full and final entry list is expected in the New Year. The Endurance Championship event will be run on Saturday, 12 March at Hampton Downs.

Bookmark and Share